Weight Loss Tip Tuesday – Anti-inflammatories!

Are y’all staying warm? I know some places have had the first blanket of snow grace their presence and others have significantly dropped in temperature. In my neck of the woods it’s super-duper windy! I feel like a little piggy hiding inside my house while the big bad wolf tries to blow my house down! It’s insane! Winter has arrived folks!

IMG_2700.JPG

This weight loss tip is excellent for weight loss (duh) and it will help keep you warm. I thought it was fitting for this time of year. I know I need a little extra help staying warm!

Let’s talk about inflammation for a sec. It is a necessary function that our body performs to keep us going. Inflammation creates a healing response – to help fight infection (think of how your skin swells up after a mosquito bite or after a paper cut). The problem that most of us face is that our body is too inflamed and our immune system is a little overwhelmed because of stress, environmental factors, diet and poor lifestyle choices. The bells are constantly going off and alerting your immune system that there’s a problem. This can lead to a variety of illnesses including obesity, cardiovascular issues and possibly even cancer!

Clearly we need to be proactive in our response to inflammation. We can do this by limiting inflammatory foods (like sugar, processed foods, and saturated fat), limiting our stress and eating more anti-inflammatory foods.

These include: omega 3s (found in wild salmon, chia seeds, flax seeds, walnuts, etc), whole grains (like brown rice, amaranth, oats, quinoa), fruits and vegetables (beets, dark leafy greens, broccoli, turmeric) – basically eat the rainbow and you’ll be well on your way.

IMG_2659.JPG

Now, this is the cool part. Remember last week we talked about eating seasonally? There are different fruits and veggies in season at different times and there’s a purpose for this. There are some anti-inflammatories that will warm you up when you eat them. These are things we mostly eat in the winter. Like cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg…remind you of something? This combo always brings up memories of happy holidays for me.

To stay warm this season and fight inflammation (double bonus) stock up on root veggies, ginger, cinnamon, turmeric and garlic.

You didn’t think I’d leave you hanging without a new delicious, warming, smoky, sweet recipe did you?!

I have basically been obsessed with these babies…just thinking about them is making me drool!

IMG_2715.JPG

Smokey Sweet Potato Fries with a Killer Sauce

1 medium sweet potato
1 tsp chipotle olive oil*
1/4 tsp smoked paprika
1/4 tsp onion powder
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp salt

Killer Sauce:
2 Tbs veganaise
6 drops chipotle tobasco sauce
1/4 tsp smoked paprika

– Slice the sweet potato into fry size pieces. Put in a bowl
– Add the oil. Toss to evenly coat all the fries.
– Add the remaining ingredients and toss to coat.
– Bake at 450 F for 10 minutes. Flip the fries. Bake an additional 10-15 minutes until golden brown and delicious.
– Mix all the sauce ingredients together and dig in!

*If you don’t have chipotle olive oil, don’t fret…regular olive oil can be substituted.

Enjoy!

IMG_2705.JPG

3 thoughts on “Weight Loss Tip Tuesday – Anti-inflammatories!

  1. Love this article – thanks for sharing it. I have tiny little inflammation episode that just happened to me to help illustrate your point. I was winding up my straightening iron and the plug end of the cord whipped around and connected quite forcefully with my forearm. Can you say “ouch!” Now I have a pea-sized little bump of inflammation just under my skin, right on top of my bone where my body is taking care of the situation. Good thing I had kale for lunch =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

